SCOLAR Network

Mission 2050: Impact 1 Billion Youth in SCO Region

Discover our community of empathetic young leaders driven to make a long-standing social impact in the 21 countries of our region.

0 +
Members and Alumni
0 +
Events Organized
0 k+

About SCOLAR Network

Education | Culture | Entrepreneurship

Our platform, affiliated with the SCO Secretariat, brings together young leaders from the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) region to strengthen connectivity, promote dialogue and create social impact through projects in three key fields: education, culture and entrepreneurship.

Our Projects

Discover our flagship projects that connect youth across the SCO region and serve our mission.

Model SCO

Our unique game that cultivates mature & empathetic decision-makers.


Our "marketplace of ideas", AGORA is a forum which brings together young talents and industry stakeholders to generate ideas for regional development.

SCOLAR Academy

SCOLAR Academy offers short-term educational programs to boost essential skills through project-based learning.

Upcoming Events

No event found!

Join a hub!

Want to become a SCOLAR? Find a hub in your city or start your own!


We work closely with institutions, companies and organizations which share the same vision of empowering youth and giving back to their society.

SCOLARs' stories and feedback

Read about SCOLAR members and alumni experience.

Frequently Asked Questions

A bit more about SCOLAR and why we do what we do

SCO is the abbreviation of Shanghai Cooperation Organization. LAR stands for Leaders with Aspiration and Respect for one another

SCOLAR Network (SCO Countries Youth Platform) is affiliated with the SCO Secretariat. SCOLAR is not a structure of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization. It is an independent platform that operates under the non-profit principles. SCOLAR is headquartered in Beijing, China.

The “Shanghai Spirit” consists of the six principles that the SCO member states adhere to in joint activities: mutual trust, mutual benefit, equality, mutual consultations, respect for cultural diversity and desire for common development.

Anyone from 20 to 35 years old with citizenship of one of 18 SCO countries can become a member of SCOLAR Network. The “SCO Family” countries are India, Kazakhstan, China, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Russia, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Afghanistan, Belarus, Iran, Mongolia, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Cambodia, Nepal, Turkey and Sri Lanka.

If there is a hub in your city, you can contact the curator and clarify the time of the next recruitment. Usually the recruitment happens 1-2 times a year.

If there is a hub in your city, you can contact the curator and clarify the time of the next recruitment. Usually the recruitment happens 1-2 times a year. If there is no hub in your city of residence, you can apply for establishment of a hub by sending your resume and a proposal for hub establishment with a vision and tentative plan for upcoming 3-4 events to the following email: We will contact you within two weeks. See more details in the “Hubs” section.

The official languages ​​of the SCO are Russian and Chinese. Since 2017, English has become an additional working language. To join SCOLAR, you need to know one of the three languages ​​listed above.

Get In Touch With Us

We are happy to answer any further questions, discuss hub opening, collaboration, partnership or just get to know you!

Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO)

The Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) is a permanent intergovernmental international organisation, the creation of which was announced on 15 June 2001 in Shanghai, China, by Kazakhstan, China, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan. It was preceded by the Shanghai Five mechanism.

The SCO Charter was signed during the St.Petersburg SCO Heads of State meeting in June 2002. This is the fundamental statutory document which outlines the organisation’s goals and principles, as well as its structure and core activities.

The historical meeting of the Heads of State Council of the SCO on 8-9 June 2017 in Astana, Kazakhstan, granted the status of a full member of the Organization to India and Pakistan.

The SCO’s main goals are as follows: strengthening mutual trust and neighbourliness among the member states; promoting their effective cooperation in politics, trade, the economy, research, technology and culture, as well as in education, energy, transport, tourism, environmental protection, and other areas; making joint efforts to maintain and ensure peace, security and stability in the region; and moving towards the establishment of a democratic, fair and rational new international political and economic order.

Proceeding from the “Shanghai Spirit”, the SCO pursues its internal policy based on the principles of mutual trust, mutual benefit, equality, mutual consultations, respect for cultural diversity, and a desire for common development, while its external policy is conducted in accordance with the principles of non-alignment, non-targeting any third country, and openness.

The Heads of State Council (HSC) is the supreme decision-making body in the SCO. It meets once a year and adopts decisions and guidelines on all important matters of the organisation. The SCO Heads of Government Council (HGC) meets once a year to discuss the organisation’s multilateral cooperation strategy and priority areas, to resolve current important economic and other cooperation issues, and also to approve the organisation’s annual budget. The SCO’s official languages are Russian and Chinese.

In addition to HSC and HGC meetings, there is also a mechanism of meetings at the level of heads of parliament; secretaries of Security Councils; ministers of foreign affairs, defence, emergency relief, economy, transport, culture, education, and healthcare; heads of law enforcement agencies and supreme and arbitration courts; and prosecutors general. The Council of National Coordinators of SCO Member States (CNC) acts as the SCO coordination mechanism.

The organisation has two permanent bodies — the SCO Secretariat based in Beijing and the Executive Committee of the Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure (RATS) based in Tashkent.

Thus, currently SCO has 18 countries: 

  • 8 member states: India, Kazakhstan, China, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan; 
  • 4 observer states: Afghanistan, Belarus, Iran, and Mongolia; 
  • 6 dialogue partners: Azerbaijan, Armenia, Cambodia, Nepal, Turkey, and Sri Lanka.